March 31, 2010

School board candidates needed

By Tina Foreman
Farmer Staff Writer

Now that the weather is finally beginning to feel like spring, it won’t be long before the time to vote during this summer’s June Primary Election is here too. An election that area school boards hope they’re ready for.
Schools throughout McKenzie County have 10 open seats with petitions turned in for only half of those positions.
McKenzie County Public School District No. 1 will have three positions on the ballot – Area 1, Watford City, incumbent Pam Ramage, Area 2 & 3, Watford City or rural Arnegard, incumbent Gary Bruins and Area 4 & 5 Grail, Twin Valley #5, Schafer #8 or Little Missouri #13, incumbent Beth Veeder. The three incumbents have filed petitions to run for another term with no petitions filed, so far, by challengers.
Alexander Public School District No. 2 has two School Board positions up for re-election with incumbents Ed Rettig and Misty Powell. Rettig has indicated that he will not seek re-election and Powell has not turned in a petition to run.
 Yellowstone School District No. 14 has four positions open with incumbents Doug Gullikson, Rod Elken, Duane Danielson and Heide Okeson. The position held by Okeson has recently opened up because she will be moving out of the district, and it has been verbally stated that the three incumbents will run, but no formal statements of interest have been received.
The Mandaree Public School will have two board positions on the ballot, with incumbents Raymond Yellow Wolf and Ted Lone Fight filing petitions for re-election.
If you are interested in getting more involved in your district’s school, now is the time to get your paperwork in order and filed, because the filing deadline for the June Primary Election is April 9, 2010.