March 11, 2009

Oiler girls take fourth at State Tournament

The Watford City Oilers Girls team played in the State Hockey Tournament on March 6, 7 and 8 in Mayville, and skated to a fourth place finish.
In the opening round, Watford City paired off against Bottineau and skated to a 9 to 2 victory. Emilee Wright scored the Oilers’ first goal 16 seconds into the game then Katie Skarda scored the first of her two goals for the period with 11 minutes remaining. Tessa Dwyer then capped off the Oilers first period scoring to put Watford City on top 4-1.
Folland, Wright and Skarda each scored in the second period to up Watford City’s lead to 7-1 going into the final period.
Skarda picked up her hat trick as she scored the Oilers’ final two goals in the third period.
Folland led the Oilers with five assists in the game, while Skarda had three. Wright and Taylor Dwyer had two assists each, while Ashley Heggen and Morgan Berquist each had one.
Rachael Grotte had 23 saves in the net for the Oilers.
In the second game, the Oilers won an exciting victory 5 to 4 against the Breckenridge/Wahpeton Blades.
After skating to a a 4-4 tie after three periods, Emilee Wright pounded the puck into the net just 32 seconds into the overtime period to give the Oilers the win.
Katie Skarda had her second hat trick of the tournament to lead the Oilers in scoring with three goals, while Wright netted two goals.
Wright and Ashley Heggen each had two assists, while Samatha Schwan had one assist.
Rachael Grotte had 22 saves in the net for Watford City.
In semifinal action, the Oilers fell to the Richland Rangers 4-2. Scoring for the team were Krystle Folland and Katie Skarda. Emilee Wright, Folland and Skarda each had one assist.
Rachael Grotte had 28 saves.
In Sunday’s third place game, the Oilers lost to the Langdon Blades 6-0. Rachael Grotte had 37 saves.
This year’s team members were Emilee Wright, Krystle Folland, Ashley Heggen, Rachael Grotte, Samantha Schwan, Shaunta Miller, Taylor Dwyer, Tessa Dwyer, Katie Skarda, Kat Kinden, Jasmine Green, Kaycee Crimmins, Morgan Berquist, Totiana Miller and Raven Meinke. The Oilers were coached by Josh Brew, Kurt Brew, Bill Kinden and Brent Schwan.