April 1, 2009

Sanford, Yellow Wolf named to Class B All-State cage team

By Neal A. Shipman
Farmer Editor

Two McKenzie County basketball players, Kevin Sanford and Devin Yellow Wolf, have been selected by the North Dakota Associated Press Sportswriters and Sportsbroadcasters to the 2009 Class B All-State boys basketball team.
Sanford,  a 6’1” senior guard/forward with the Watford City Wolves was one of five North Dakota Class B basketball players to be named to the All-State first team, while Yellow Wolf, a 6’2” junior with the Mandaree Warriors was named to the All-State second team.
Sanford helped lead Watford City to a fifth place finish at State in 2009 and a fourth place finish in 2008. During the 2008 season, Sanford averaged  18.6 points, 8.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 2.3 steals per game to help the Wolves win the Region 8 title.
Yellow Wolf  averaged 16.5 points, 14 rebounds and 9 assists a game in leading Mandaree to a runner-up finish in the Region 8 Tournament.
2008 Class B Boys
Basketball All-State Teams
First Team: Cameron Malzer, Turtle Lake-Mercer;  Adam Randall, Kidder County; Gus Kueber, Dakota Prairie; Chad Marshall, Hazen; and Kevin Sanford, Watford City.
Second Team: Lucas Bloms, Lewis & Clark-Berthold; Ryan Drevlow, North Sargent; Jacob Erbes, Richland; Zach Grothmann, Hillsboro; Tanner Komrosky, North Star; Robbie Morey, Dickinson Trinity; Justin Purintun, Linton; Grant Singer, Turtle Lake-Mercer; Mike Smith, North Border; Alex Wolf, Bowman County; and Devin Yellow Wolf, Mandaree.