January 18, 2012

Wrestlers get win over Coyote JV squad

By Neal A. Shipman
Farmer Editor

Watford City’s varsity wrestling team picked up a dual win last Tuesday as the Wolves edged the Williston Junior Varsity team, 32-30, before taking third place at the Beulah Invitational Tournament on Saturday.
This week the Wolves will be at home as Watford City hosts Beulah in dual action at 7 p.m. on Friday and then hosts the Levi Wisness Classic on Saturday. Wrestling action at the Levi Wisness Classic starts at 11 a.m.

Watford City 32, Williston JV 30
It was a good night for Watford City wrestlers as the Wolves picked up four pins to edge the Williston Coyote JV squad, 32-30, in a dual meet last Tuesday. Earning pins for the Wolves was Josh Johnson, Austin Garmann, Joe Nelson and Keegan Thompson, while Logan Gumke won by technical fall and Trevor Kalberer won by decision.
Individual results from the dual were as follows:
106: Logan Gumke won by technical fall over Patrick Farrell, 6:00.
113: Coleton Jore decisioned by Hayden Rossol, 17-5.
126: Clay Jorgenson lost by technical fall to Eliel LaFavor, 16-0.
132: Josh Johnson pinned Royce Horswill, 0:58.
138: Gus Nelson decisioned by Jorge Rico, 11-4.
145: Trevor Kalberer decisioned Lucas Maul, 8-7.
152: Austin Garmann pinned Derrik Wrolson, 3:28.
160: Joe Nelson pinned Bryan Langager, 2:47.
170: Keegan Thompson pinned Parker Landro, 2:27.
182: Josh Rockeman pinned by Skyler Moe, 1:02.
285: Kye Bolken pinned by Ty Bakken, 0:54.

Beulah Invitational
Watford  City had a very good showing at the Beulah Invitational on Saturday placing six wrestlers to finish the tournament in third place with 93.5 points. Finishing ahead of the Wolves was the Bismarck High and the Bismarck JV teams.
Gus Nelson paced the Wolves with a second place finish, while Logan Gumke and Clay Jorgenson, Josh Johnson and Trevor Kalberer finished in third place. Placing in fourth place for the Wolves was Coleton Jore and Austin Garmann.
106: Logan Gumke opened the tournament with a technical fall (21-6) win over Braydon Avery of Standing Rock in 2:00 before being decisioned 4-2 by Alex Hoffmann of the Bismarck JV. Gumke then pinned Matthew Schafner of Bismarck St. Mary’s in 4:24 and Trevor Jorgenson of Bowman in 4:14 to take third place.
113: Coleton Jore was decisioned 11-5 in his opening match against Logan Boese of the Bismarck JV before getting a bye in his second match. Jore then pinned Standing Rock’s Kobe Murphy in 1:16 before losing by technical fall (16-1) in 4:33 to Logan Boese of the Bismarck JV to take fourth place.
126: Clay Jorgenson was pinned by Bowman’s Kyle McGee in 5:04 in his first match before receiving a second round bye. Jorgenson then decisioned Austin Huck of Bismarck St. Mary’s 12-7 and Kyle McGee to take third place.
132: Josh Johnson pinned Alex Krebs of Bismarck High in 0:21 to open the tournament. He then was pinned by Dane Fischer of Bismarck St. Mary’s in 3:19 before coming back to pin Aden Stone of Standing Rock in 1:56. In the third place match, Johnson pinned Krebs in 1:27.
138: Gus Nelson received a first round bye and then pinned Casey Lucy of Kenmare in 2:41 to advance to the title match. In the championship match, Nelson was pinned by Bismarck High’s Logan Eisenbeis in 4:54.
145: Trevor Kalberer opened the tournament by pinning Bismarck High’s Tanner Bean in 4:52 before being decisioned by Ricky Purtle of the Bismarck JV 8-3. Kalberer then pinned Bismarck High’s Diedrich Harms in 1:34 and Alex Willey of Bismarck St. Mary’s in 4:42 to take third place.
152: Watford City had three wrestlers competing at 152 pounds. Joe Nelson received a first round bye and then lost to Beau Kary of the Bismarck JV 9-5. Following a bye, Nelson was pinned by Tobia Maher of Bismarck St. Mary’s in 0:32.
Keegan Thompson received a first round bye and then was pinned in 5:12 by Josh Britz of Bismarck High. Following a bye, Thompson was decisioned 5-2 by Beau Kary of the Bismarck JV.
Austin Garmann received a first round bye and then pinned Bismarck St. Mary’s Kule Blotsky in 0:17. Garmann was then decisioned 15-5 by Josh Britz of Bismarck before decisioning Tobias Maher of St. Mary’s 12-5 to advance to the third place match. In that match, Garmann was decisioned 10-2 by Beau Kary of the Bismarck JV.
160: Josh Rockeman was pinned in 0:52 by Evan Wahl of Bismarck High in first round action and then was pinned by Rey Grumann of Bismarck St. Mary’s in 0:29.

Bismarck Rotary
Trevor Kalberer scored all five of Watford City’s points when the Wolves competed in the Bismarck Rotary Tournament on Jan. 6.
The Wolves only had four wrestlers competing at the varsity level in the tournament which featured some of the best wrestlers in a four-state area.
Results from the first day of the Rotary Tournament were as follows.
106: Logan Gumke was decisioned 14-1 by Hayden Hanson (Rapid City) and then lost 10-2 to Justin Hutzenbiler of Dickinson High.
138: Gus Nelson was pinned by Bruce Lemmon (Frazee, Minn.) in 3:17 and was then decisioned 9-0 by Brad Christiansen (Rapid City).
145: Trevor Kalberer was pinned in 3:43 by Ryan Blees (Bismarck High) before coming back to pin Cody Christian (Sidney, Mont.) in 2:27. Kalberer was then decisioned 11-2 by Wyatt Meyer (Wahpeton) before decisioning Ryan Hillerud (Jamestown) 6-4.
152: Austin Garmann was pinned by Bryce Fish (Grand Forks Central) in 3:02 before being pinned by Robert Richter (Bismarck St. Mary’s) in 2:35.
On the second day of the Rotary Tournament, individuals that had lost two matches on Friday or who had not competed in Friday’s tournament wrestled.
Results for Watford City wrestlers competing on this day were as follows.
106: Logan Gumke was pinned by Cayne Cymbaluk (Mandan) in 2:38. He then decisioned Tyrel Mathwich (Minot) 10-8 before losing in double overtime to Seth Moore (Aberdeen) 7-6.
113: Coleton Jore pinned Collin Grumann (Bismarck St. Mary’s) in 1:38 and then pinned Lukas Maughan (Fargo North) in 1:23. He then decisioned Corey Barbato (Aberdeen) 5-2.
126: Clay Jorgenson was decisioned 16-0 by Dakota Pew (Glendive) and was decisioned 15-0 by Esham Noses (Fargo North) before losing his final match 9-1 to Mitchell Moe (Fargo Davies).
132: Josh Johnson was pinned by Eugene Fleetwood Jr. (Turtle Mountain Community High) in 0:39 before being pinned by Jordan Magnuson, (Valley City) in 4:09. In his final match, Johnson was decisioned 4-3 by Garrett Litzinger (Grand Forks Central).
138: Gus Nelson pinned Jacob Rader (Century) in 2:24 and then pinned Jorge Rico (Williston) in 2:29.
145: Joe Nelson won by technical fall over Taylor Luke (Sidney) in 3:45 and then pinned Tobias Maher (Bismarck St. Mary’s) in 2:47 before being pinned by Adam Stein (Mandan) in 2:47.
152: Austin Garmann pinned Devon Beckers (Bismarck) in 0:56 and then won by technical fall in 1:20 over Charlie Stotz (Aberdeen). In his final match, Garmann pinned Brayzen Wilkie (Turtle Mountain) in 1:20.
160: Josh Rockeman was pinned by Aaron Goodsell (Aberdeen) in 3:33 and was then pinned by Josh Brilz (Bismarck High) in 0:29. In his final match, Rockeman was pinned by Derrik Wrolson (Williston) in 0:59.