December 22, 2015

Wrestlers take fifth at Dickinson Tourney

By Neal A. Shipman
Farmer Editor

The Watford City wrestlers had a full schedule this past week as the Wolves hosted their home-opener on Tuesday night against  New Town and Sidney
The Wolves started hot winning all but two matches against New Town to win 60-12, before facing a much stiffer test in Sidney. Sidney went on to win eight matches to Watford City’s six and came away with a 45-34 dual win.
Connor Dennis paced the Wolves in the triangular picking up two pins.
The week’s action concluded in Dickinson on Friday and Saturday where the Wolves competed in three more duals and an individual tournament.
The Wolves went 2-1 overall in the duals knocking off Bismarck High’s JV in the first dual and Wolf Point, Mont. in the last dual.
The Wolves fell to Mandan, one of the top Class A teams, in their second dual on Friday night. The Wolves were led by their three seniors, Jade Hepper, Jake Belland and Kyle Cook, who each posted 3-0 records in the duals, while Jackson Faller and Connor Dennis, both sophomores, added undefeated efforts in the three duals for the Wolves.
Saturday’s tournament provided Watford City with some of the toughest individual competition that they have faced to date, with the Wolves finishing in fifth place out of 14 total teams.
Liam Shannon manned the 106 spot and posted a 2-2 record on his way to a fourth place finish, while  Braedon Gumke wrestled five matches in one of the toughest weight classes in the entire tournament. Gumke went 1-4 and finished in fifth place.
“Braedon didn’t win as many matches as he would have liked to,” stated Mitch Greenwood, Wolves’ head coach. “But he competed very hard against very good competition and had some good matches.”
CJ Thacker finished the tournament in third place at 120 pounds by going 1-2 in a round-robin bracket.
Kyle Cook had a tremendous weekend going a combined 6-1 between the duals and the tournament. He dropped just one match to the eventual tournament champion en route to a third place finish at 152 pounds.
Connor Dennis finished 2-2 overall to claim a fifth place finish at 182 pounds.
Jake Belland, who was the lone finalist for the Wolves, won all three of his dual matches Friday, and then cruised through four straight matches to get to the championship against Braden Peterson of Lemmon, S.D. Belland was defeated 7-3 in the championship bout in his first loss of the season. His season record is now 18-1.
Jackson Faller competed at the heavyweight division for the Wolves where he finished in fourth place after going 2-2 in the tournament. In the third place match, Faller went up against Stanley’s Garrett Hoelscher where the two exchanged points in the first two periods and wrestled a scoreless third period to force an overtime period at 1-1. After a scoreless overtime period, Hoelscher was able to secure a reversal and ride out Faller for the 3-1 double overtime victory.
In the junior varsity, the Wolves had four competitors fighting it out for some championship action as well.
Jake Leppell won the 106 JV bracket going 3-0 on the day with two pins and an injury default forfeit to his credit, while Antonio Garcia won his first four matches to reach the finals where he was pinned to finish as the tournament runner-up. Hunter Schwartzenberger competed in the 145-pound field and came away with a pair of wins to claim fifth place honors, while Carlton Turnquist was also able to pick up a pair of wins  and finished in seventh place.
Next week, the Wolves will be traveling to Fargo for the Rumble on the Red Tournament, which will be held at the Fargodome. More than 60 teams are entered in the tournament from North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wyoming, Nebraska, and Wisconsin.
Watford City 60, New Town 12
132: Antonio Garcia won by forfeit.
138: Dakota Garmann won by forfeit.
145: Jade Hepper won by forfeit.
152: Hunter Schwartzenberger  pinned Collin Mossett, 1:24.
160: Kyle Cook won by forfeit.
170: Carlton Turnquist won by forfeit.
182: Connor Dennis pinned Wesley Snow, 0:42.
195: Brett Rowe Rusty pinned by  Ethridge, 0:48.
220: Jake Belland pinned David Johnson, 0:39.
285: Jackson Faller pinned by Bronson Flynn, 5:51.
106: Liam Shannon pinned Brenden Kerzmann, 2:55.
113: Braedon Gumke won by forfeit.
120: Double Forfeit
126: Double Forfeit

Sidney 45, Watford City 34
145: Jade Hepper decisioned AJ Ullmer, 16-7.
152: Hunter Schwartzenberger pinned by Parker Dean, 0:38.
160: Kyle Cook pinned by Bridger Coffman, 0:59.
170: Carlton Turnquist pinned by Gunnar Gillespie, 1:02.
182: Connor Dennis pinned Christian Edgar, 3:04.
195: Brett Rowe pinned by Sawyer Torgerson, 0:06.
220: Jake Belland won by forfeit.
285: Jackson Faller pinned by Hunter Severson, 1:08.
106: Liam Shannon decisioned by Christian Dean, 6-5.
113: Braedon Gumke pinned Josh Aisenbrey, 0:50.
120: Jake Leppell won by forfeit.
126: CJ Thacker pinned by Jace Winter, 5:53.
132: Antonio Garcia won by forfeit.
138: Dakota Garmann pinned by Jace Johnson, 3:45.

Watford City 43, Bismarck High JV 33
120: Braedon Gumke pinned Recognize Davis, 2:50.
126: CJ Thacker pinned by Jordan Schmidt, 1:55.
132: Antonio Garcia pinned by Jaden Schmidt, 2:15.
138: Jade Hepper decisioned Jared Honeyman, 9-4.
145: Hunter Schwartzenberger decisioned by Riley Johnson, 7-3.
152: Kyle Cook decisioned Aiden Schuh, 20-10.
160: Watford City forfeit.
170: Watford City forfeit.
182: Carlton Turnquist pinned by Matt Curtis, 1:27.
195: Connor Dennis pinned Skyler Wilkens, 0:23.
220: Jake Belland won by forfeit.
285: Jackson Faller won by forfeit.
106: Jake Leppell won by forfeit.
113: Liam Shannon pinned Ignacio Gomez, 1:04.

Mandan 49, Watford City 27
126: CJ Thacker pinned by Kolten Reisenauer, 3:33.
132: Antonio Garcia pinned by Garret Arndorfer, 3:04.
138: Jade Hepper pinned Tyson Lunstad, 1:18.
145: Hunter Schwartzenberger pinned by Dylan Fleck, 2:27.
152: Kyle Cook pinned Riley Ogden, 3:30.
160: Watford City forfeit.
170: Carlton Turnquist pinned by Kendall Deitz, 1:18.
182: Watford City forfeit.
195: Connor Dennis pinned Logan Pudwill, 2:00.
220: Jake Belland pinned Kordell Myers, 0:47.
 285: Jackson Faller decisioned Matt Gunsch, 10-4.
 106: Liam Shannon pinned by Karson Mosbrucker, 1:42.
113: Jake Leppell decisioned by Ethan Fleck, 16-2.
120: Braedon Gumke decisioned by Eric Spilman, 7-6.

Watford City 54, Wolf Point 6
132: Antonio Garcia won by DQ over Rasmus Nordman.
138: Jade Hepper won by forfeit.
145: Hunter Schwartzenberger won by forfeit.
152: Kyle Cook won by forfeit.
160: Double Forfeit
170: Double Forfeit
182: Carlton Turnquist won by forfeit.
195: Connor Dennis pinned Ty Nygard, 5:14.
220: Double Forfeit.
285: Jake Belland won by forfeit.
106: Liam Shannon pinned Triestan Kemp, 1:16.
113: Braedon Gumke pinned Karson Wortman, 1:02.
120: Double Forfeit.
126: CJ Thacker pinned by Quinn Whitmus, 1:01.